MQG Challenge Quilt

Being new to Blogging I have some catching up to do, with a recap of recent finishes.  Let’s start with the Modern Quilt Guild Madrona Road Challenge.

The MQG first annual QuiltCon was recently held in Austin Texas.  Michael Miller Fabrics designer Violet Craft released a collection titled Madrona Road in July 2012.  Michael Miller Fabrics donated bundles of the fabric to Modern Quilt Guilds all over the country,  the only stipulation was that you were to use the fabrics supplied, any others from the collection, or any solids you wanted to add to make a quilted item.  Michael Miller Fabrics and Violet Craft would then choose some winners to be displayed at the Michael Miller Booth at QuiltCon.   How Exciting!  The chance to have a quilt displayed at QuiltCon.  I received my fabrics (seven fat quarters) at the December Indy Modern Guild Meeting, and got right to work.

I thought long and hard about what I wanted to do, and came up with the following list of criteria for myself:

  • Because this was “free” fabric I wanted to try something new.
  • I wanted to utilize negative space (i.e. white) to give a nod to the modern aspect of the challenge.
  • I wanted to keep the size reasonable so I could meet the January 31st deadline.

With all that in mind I decided on a Dresden Plate style quilt.  I have never tried a Dresden pattern before, so this would be something new for me, and I had seen some lovelies while scavenging the internet for inspiration.  But Dresden quilts are so traditional, and I wanted to keep this quilt modern, so I decided on this cog style circle.  The circles, or plates, came together easily with the use of a Dresden acrylic template from JoAnns.

photo

From there I decided to set in each circle instead of the traditional applique.  I experimented with different layouts and finally settled on this one.

top

Each plate is on a white background panel.  I especially loved the rounded corners.  For the back I used the remainder of the fat quartes and supplemented with a bright pop of orange from the Madrona Road collection. I quilted it in a horizontal zig-zag pattern in white with a few lines of yellow and blue thrown in.  Here’s the final product.  With my lovely model Calvin.

finish     back

detail

Hope you enjoy!  And a big Thank you to Michael Miller, Violet Craft, and the Modern Quilt Guild.

Leave a Reply

