A Quilt for Me

Continuing with the trend of quilting for keeps.

After I started on Calvin’s quilt and our trip to the amazing Crimson Tate, I decided that I needed to make a quilt for myself.  Heather stocks a plethora of japanese fabrics from designers Etsuko Furuya and Melody Miller.  I picked up a small collection of fat quarters from the Nico, Ruby Star Shining, and Vinyl collections.  I just couldn’t resist.  The cotton linen blend fabrics felt so luxurious, and the modern prints in bright colors were so cheerful.  I had no clue at the time what pattern I would use, but I knew I would find something.  I scoured the internet until I came across Amy Butler’s Gypsy Caravan Fat Quarters Quilt pattern.  It was perfect!  I loved the random piecing, it was simple, and it’s a free pattern on Amy’s website.  Amy’s design calls for 32 fat quarters and is a finished 49″ square.  Alas I only had 12 fat quarters and one yard for binding, but I was determined to make it work!  I started by cutting all the largest squares first, and I set aside even the tiniest of scraps in case I would need them latter.  As I cut each piece I placed it on my “design wall” (a peice of batting pined to the wall with straight pins).

design wall

I ended up using those tiny scraps for the strip peiced sections, and wouldn’t you know I ended up having just enough with my 12 fat quarters and a little from the yard I used for the binding.

top

For the back I used Melody Millers Vinyl print.  Calvin and I LOVE to listen to albums on my dad’s vintage record player, so it was perfect.  We especially love the funny album titles like “The Ginger Monkeys”.  I quilted it in circles that echo two of the albums on the back.  I was a little nervous to quilt circles at first, but I am very happy with how it turned out.

quilting start

And now I have a my size quilt for snuggling on the sofa.

20130410_220823 20130410_221300

Leave a Reply

