Type, Lucy, Sew

Most quilters cherish their scraps. I, do not. As I work on a project I toss my scraps on the floor or into a brown paper bag, and dread the day that the pile is too big to ignore. After finishing Calvin’s gigantic quilt and a few baby quilts for friends I was left with a plethora of scraps. I decided that it was time for me to try to use them up and make a scrap quilt. I supplemented my stash of blue, green and yellow scraps with a couple of fat quarters of Type by Julie Rothman for Windham fabrics and Lucy’s Crab Shack by Sweetwater for Moda. I think the bright colors combined with Julie Rothman’s prints remind me of summer vacation and the excitement of the first day back at school. I found a great tutorial from Cluck Cluck Sew. The quilt is comprised of 4 styles of blocks, each 8-inches finished. With lots of big blocks the top came together very quickly.

front

I love how beachy this quilt turned out. It was so much fun to work on during the dreary winter months. I picked up a bright blue and green print from Kate Spain’s Honey Honey collection from The French Seam for the back.

back

For the quilting I did vertical lines randomly spaced using three different curvy and loop stitches set at different lengths. The thread is a bright green that blends in nicely on the front and back.

front detail All in all I say this one is a winner!

Leave a Reply

