Thank you Spoonflower!

I received my first ever Spoonflower order today!  For those of you that don’t know, Spoonflower is a custom fabric company.  You can upload your images and generate your very own fabric!  I decided to use Spoonflower to create my own custom quilt labels.  Until now I have not labeled my quilts…I know, I am a horrible quilter.  All of my quilts have gone to close friends and family, and I hope that I am a part of their lives for many years to come.  Therefore, I never saw a need to label my quilts.  Now that I am preparing to sell quilts to unknown third parties I thought it would be a good idea to include a label.  The design I came up with includes a sketch drawn by our friend Courtney (Thanks), my “business name” Calvin and Carolyn, my name, some simple care instructions, and (what will someday be) my etsy site and blog address.  I like the simple, crisp, black and white design.  It is clear and easy to read.  The labels are printed on a nice kona white cotton.  I plan to cut them apart, and hand turn applique them to my quilt backs.  I may modify them in the future to be a tad bigger, but for now I am beyond excited!

labels

Do you label your quilts?  What’s your prefered method?

Leave a Reply

