Sometimes Day Jobs Are Cool

Thanks to my day job, I was very lucky to get two tickets to this years Carburetion Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  The final practice session before the race, currently held on the Friday before race day, is called “Carburetion Day” (shortened to “Carb Day” since 2000). The name originally came from the fact that it was the final session where teams could tune their carburetors in conditions similar to those that may be encountered on race day. The name has remained despite the fact that no qualified car has used a carburetor since 1963.  Now, instead of tuning carburetors, they have a Freedom 100 race, Pit Stop challenges and a concert.

Now, being a quilter, I know…noting about race cars or races or anything race related.  It was a major learning experience for me, and it was SO MUCH FUN.

Eric and I drove down to Speedway early in the morning to avoid traffic, which worked out very well.  We were easily able to park  in a lot across the street from the main entrance to the stadium (? track, brickyard, not sure what to call it).  My first impression as we entered was, “I had no idea it was this big!”  The track, for those who don’t know is a full 2.5 miles around.  In my head that didn’t sound that big, but once you get inside, you can walk all over and never even see the track.  And boy did we walk.  One of my favorite parts of the day was seeing all the old restored race cars.  This year marks the 97th Indy 500 race.  The Speedway opened in 1909.  I can’t even imagine going around that track in one of those old cars.  Here are a few of my favorites.

IMG_1011

IMG_1007IMG_1006 IMG_0998 IMG_0982IMG_0992

I love the variety of colors.  Especially number 58.

I also thought it was interesting to see the cars getting towed out to the track for the different events.  Watching the crew members squeeze themselves in and out of those tiny cars was sort of hilarious.

IMG_1049

Mid day was the final qualifying race.  It sure is exciting watching those cars go around that track.

IMG_1031

IMG_0957

Calvin doing what we do best…drinkin beers.

At the end of the day was the Pit Crew Challenge.  A test run of sorts for the pit crews with a cash prize for the fastest team.  I thought this was almost as exciting as the racing itself.  But perhaps the best part of the day, was the people watching!

IMG_1046

Calvin and I may have a new annual tradition.

Leave a Reply

