His and Hers Quilt

While surfing everyone’s favorite inspiration site, Pinterest, I stumbled across the prettiest Moda Bakeshop pattern, Honey Honey Layer Cake Quilt. I love the bright summery colors on the light background, and I love the simple piecing that looks complex. As fate would have it, I latter found charm packs of the Honey Honey collection at The French Seam! I snached some up right away and got some Kona Snow from Crimson Tate for the background. I am actually quite happy to use charm packs in place of the Layer Cake the pattern calles for, because that means less cutting for me!

fabrics

The half square triangles are quick and easy to sew. I laid them all out on our spare room floor to decide on my final layout. The pattern is shown very scrappy with all the prints mixed. With a little help from Calvin, I decided to make my blocks pink and blue alternating. I think I will call it the His and Hers quilt! I am very happy with how this quilt top came out. It is now in line to be quilted.

20130610-190621.jpg

 

I think it looks like a great pic-nic blanket.

20130610-190647.jpg

 

And for the back I picked up one of the dark floral prints from the collection.

20130610-190658.jpg

How many projects do you have waiting to be quilted?

4 thoughts on “His and Hers Quilt

  1. UGH! What a question! I love to sew quilt tops, but I am not fond of quilting. I wonder if I would fill differently if I have a long arm machine to load my quilt on instead of wrestling with my regular sewing machine! So glad not to be alone!

  2. Pingback: His and Hers Quilt Finish | Man Friday and his Mad Seamstress

Leave a Reply

