Home Sweet Home Quilt

You will not believe the Friday night I had.  After a long day of scrambling around at the day job, and a very hot hike downtown to deliver a box of paper (who requests three paper copies of a 500 page report? What is wrong with people?), I had the privilege of meeting (and hanging out with) David Butler (AKA Parson Gray).

David Butler 3.jpeg

As some of you know, a while back I was the lucky winner of a box of goodies from him which included a huge stack of his Seven Wonders fabric collection. As I mentioned in my last post, I decided to make a Michigan Map Quilt using the fabric.  Well, when I found out I would have the opportunity to meet Mr. Butler, I decided it was time to get that quilt (top) done (it had been laid out on the floor of our spare room for a number of weeks).  So here it is, the Home Sweet Home Quilt!

top front 2

top front

top front detail 2

I was very nervous about this quilt.  Throughout the process of making it I was afraid it would turn out looking like a preschooler drew a picture of Michigan.  But I think it looks pretty good.  And Mr. Butler thought it was good enough to snap some pictures of his own.  (*giddy school girl giggle*).  He was even nice enough to sign it for me.

david butler 2

signature

(Much Love From Beautiful Ohio! XO David Butler *Parson Gray)

After all the fun fabric goodness I headed over to the White Rabbit Cabaret in Indianapolis to see his band, The Black Owls, play.  If you haven’t heard their music , you should check them out.  Their sound is a combination of classic 70’s rock and punk.  A sort of cross between The Who, David Bowie, Talking Heads, and Pink Floyd.  The band is comprised of David Butler (lead vocals), Ed Shuttleworth (lead guitar), Sammy Wulfeck (base), Brian Kitzmiller (drums), and Brandon Losacker (guitar/keyboard).  Not only is their music great recorded, they put on an AMAZING live show. Their backdrop/set was super cool, the lighting was great, their energy level was through the roof, and their sound was tight.  I can’t wait for them to come back to Indianapolis!

black owls 1

black owls 2black owls 3

5 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home Quilt

  1. Pingback: Bloggers Quilt Festival | Calvin & Carolyn

Leave a Reply

