Sewing Machine Maintenance – or Super Happy Fun Time Apparel Sewing!

How many of us are guilty of waiting too long to get the oil changed on our cars? Well, sewing machines are very similar. It is recommended that you bring your sewing machine in annually to have it cleaned and serviced. This involves removing the copious amounts of lint that collect inside the machine that can interfere with the tiny sewing machine parts, oiling the motor and other moving parts that require oil to run smoothly, and adjusting the timing and tensions so your stitches look perfect every time. I purchased my sewing machine back in 2007 or 2008, and haven’t had it serviced once (*cower in shame*). It finally caught up with me in the form of non stop thread breaking. So off to Select Sewing Service my machine went for some expert TLC. Unfortunately they said it would be 6-8 weeks before I would get my baby back (*uncontrolled sobs*), which is why I had put it off for so long. Fortunately my dear sweet mother is allowing me to use her machine while mine is out for service! Yeah! Unfortunately (it’s like an emotional roller coaster up in here) it seems like it is half the size of my machine, making it super uncomfortable for me to quilt on. But what is the use in having a loaner sewing machine if i can’t sew on it? With all of that in mind, it’s time for Super Happy Fun Time Apparel Sewing!

Lets start this party off with some super cute aprons.

For these I used Amy Butler’s Domestic Goddess Apron Pattern. (Which, personally, I think is the perfect name for an apron pattern.) I decided to keep them simple and made the short half apron version with short ties. The directions were easy to follow and the finished product looks just as nice as the pattern picture. My favorite parts include the patch pockets, which are simple to topstitch to the apron. I think it would be fun to use a thick contrasting thread to stitch them on (for a fun hand sewn look). I also LOVE the trick used to encase the seam that attaches the ties to the apron itself. When sewing a garment (or bag, or other accessory) I always wonder if the weird directions will actually result in the expected finished product. I will say that 99.999% of the time, if you just have faith, read carefully, and follow the instructions it works out. This is a great example of that.

photo (1)

Each apron is made with two coordinating fabrics. The first is made from Liberty Art Fabrics Lifestyle Stile Collection. I especially love the very art deco feel of this apron.

photo 2

photo 3

Next is Field day by Josephine Kimberling for Blend Fabrics. I love how summery this apron feels. It belongs on a farm with chickens and honey bees.

photo 4

photo 5

Finally we have this apron made from Dear Stella chevrons and Hope Valley by Denyse Schmidt.

photo 6

photo 7

And you are probably thinking why is this nice lady taking pictures of aprons outside.  Well the answer to that is simple.  I have the tiniest, ugliest kitchen in Indiana.  And if you don’t believe me…avert your eyes if you can’t handle it.

photo 8

Next up some super simple skirts, stay tuned!  And I promise no more pictures of my ugly, messy kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Sewing Machine Maintenance – or Super Happy Fun Time Apparel Sewing!

  1. I really like the green Hope Valley and Dear Stella combo too. But I just LOVE LOVE LOVE the Josephine Kimberling fabric version. My daughter’s name is Bea and of course noticed the bee below the pocket. I really need this apron:)

Leave a Reply

