Oldies but Goodies

I started quilting in 2006. It all started in Alaska with a wonderful friend and fellow quilter named Lisa. Lisa encouraged me to take up quilting, even though I did not have a sewing machine at the time. During my year in Alaska I made two lap quilts 100% by hand. I was hooked. After Alaska I made several tops, but did not yet have the knowledge or skills to machine quilt them myself. Seven years later I think it’s time to finish some WIPs. First was a simple small throw/big baby quilt. I constructed this top sometime in 2007 or 2008. The pattern is a simple rail fence. I love the unique rainbow of colors, and the marbled fabrics. It is difficult to see in photos, but even the black is a marbled pattern. To finish this quilt I decided to back it with a saturated black Kona, and the quilting is a simple straight line pattern in a rainbow variegated thread.

top thread pic

image image[1]

Up next will be this spinny hexagon quilt, also started in sometime in 2007/2008, and this awesome T-shirt quilt I made while living in Oklahoma in 2007. For my T-shirt quilt I am thinking of backing it in sweatshirt fleece (no batting) and tieing it with some traditional red floss. What do you think?

image

image[1]

3 thoughts on “Oldies but Goodies

Leave a Reply

