The Campin’ Quilt

Calvin and I love the outdoors, hiking, skiing, disc golf, and especially camping. When Birch Fabrics came out with the Camp Sur collection, I had to get some. The collection features campers, fish, foxes, and my favorite…squirls. Birch fabrics is a great company, that makes 100% organic cottons. Their fabrics are very light and have a wonderful, very soft (almost silky) texture. I can’t wait for their Charley Harper collection to come out this year. I picked up six fat quarters at my local quilt shop, Crimson Tate, and lucky me, my best friend Emmy got me some additional yardage from The Purl Bee in New York for Christmas. I decided that for a camping quilt I had to do a log cabin pattern. I used the “cheater panel” Emmy got me as the center squares. I decided that with some light background prints and some color background prints I would make my log cabin blocks half-and-half.

Then came the question of layout. I originally planned on this layout, but once I saw it in real life (i.e. not in my head) I was underwhelmed. Because a large bit of fabric was a gift from Emmy, and I know she has a great eye for design, I decided to send her a message and get her opinion.

photo

The second layout we came up with was a random placement of blocks, but that just wasn’t right either.

image

And then I stumbled upon this idea. Perfect!

layout 2

I added a narrow border of campers to the front to get it up to a size I liked, and used those same campers and a row of scraps for the back.  The quilting was an adventure.  I decided to try my hand at free motion quilting again.  I used a simple cream thread that blended in nicely.  The pattern was a simple vertical line with circles.  I got the idea from one of the prints used in the quilt.  I think it gives a nice mod look to the quilt, which fits with the colors and theam.

image (3)

My friend Amy over at 13 Spools called this fussy quilting, which I love!

And to finish it all off I used some of the bright orange quail print.  Perfect for snuggling by the fire while cooking up some s’mores.

image (4)

image (1)

5 thoughts on “The Campin’ Quilt

  1. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival | Calvin & Carolyn

Leave a Reply

