Follow the Yellow Brick Road

I picked up a few fat quarters of the extra soft nursery versery collection by Heather Ross a while back.  These fabrics are a cotton linen blend made by Japanese fabric producer Kokka, and they really are some of the softest fabrics I have ever worked with (especially after washing).  I decided the best use for them would be a fun low volume baby quilt.  And what better pattern to use than Yellow Brick Road.  This pattern is very simple to follow, but looks quite complex, and is super quick to put together.  photo 1 (1)

I did simple straight line quilting that somewhat follows the seams in the piecing.  I used a lovely bright orange tiny floral print also from Heather Ross for the binding, and I backed it with some extra fat quarters.

photo 4

I think my favorite part is this cute itsy bitsy spider part.  What kid wouldn’t want this to cuddle up with?

photo 3

 

Coming up will be another Heather Ross quilt from her newest Briar Rose Collection.  I just can’t get enough of her great fabrics!

2 thoughts on “Follow the Yellow Brick Road

Leave a Reply

