Finding inspiration in odd places

I recently had to go on an overnight trip to Mt. Vernon, IN for the old day job.  Luckily I got to stay in a lovely hotel with tons of quilting inspo.  For starters, check out this amazing carpet in the hallways. photo 1

This just screams modern quilt to me.  And I love the brown/turquois combination.  Then, when I got into my room I was greeted by this lovely carpet.

photo 4

It feels very double wedding ring quilt to me.  I also liked the geometric weave of the bed skirts.

photo 3

And there was even a bit of geometric modern art on the walls.  photo 2

I may not have been able to get any sewing done while I was on my short business trip, but I came home brimming with creative ideas.  What odd places have you found your creative inspiration?

Leave a Reply

