Feather Love

In one of the first issues of Quilty Magazine I found the loveliest pattern by Anna Maria Horner. I thought the modern open space and the pieced feathers were just beautiful, and I knew right away that I wanted to make one myself. Then during a weekend trip to Crimson Tate I found the perfect fabric. I love when a plan comes together!…well almost. I picked up the three fabrics shown at the top of this photo.

fabs

They are from the Books and Letters collection for Windham Fabrics. I thought “What better fabric to use for a feather quilt than a fabric featuring quills.” Not to mention Calvin and I are what some would call bookworms. Unfortunately those were the only three prints Crimson Tate had from the collection, and I was going to need way more than that to complete my feather quilt. So they sat patiently in my sewing room until I was able to find some friends to go with them.

Eventually I picked up the beautiful textured off white to use as the background, and the dark blue strips were left overs from a shirt I made for Calvin (let me know if you are interested and I will blog about that at a later date). Since it is Anna Maria Horner’s feather quilt it was only fitting to get some of her feather print fabric for the back. A few more blues and off whites for the top and I had enough!

The first step, constructing the strip sets for the feathers was easy and went fairly quick. Then you get to the nitty gritty of cutting all the oddly shaped pieces out. I traced the pattern pieces onto a sheet of template plastic to speed the process. But I have found that I am not a big fan of irregular shapes when it comes to sewing. I find that I would rather cut strips and squares quickly with my rotary cutter. C’est La Vie. I got the first feather completed and Calvin immediately asked if we could keep this quilt. I think he likes it! Feathers may be so 2012, with all the new prints of arrows that are out this year, but I think I am in Love with this feather quilt too!  Now to get this bad boy done.

feather 1

One thought on “Feather Love

  1. Pingback: Late night sewing can lead to… | Calvin & Carolyn

Leave a Reply

