do. Good Stitches {a Charity Bee}

 I’m sure many of you have heard of do. Good Stitches, but for those of you that haven’t, let me fill you in. It is a virtual quilting bee founded and administrated by Rachel Hauser of the blog Stitched in Color. The bee is comprised of several sewing circles that benefit a number of charities through making and donating quilts. The bee is based in flicker, and the main group page can be found here. Be prepared for a ton of quilting inspiration when you check it out.

I am sure this has been going on for a number of years now, but being new to blogging and flicker and online crafting I just learned about it recently. In order to join the bee and a sewing circle you have to contact Rachel and express your intents. You can join a circle in one of two ways, as a stitcher, or as a quilter. Stitchers make blocks requested by quilters each month, and quilters assemble the blocks into quilts and send them off to the selected charity. The intent is to use up your scraps or stash fabrics, and to generate one quilt per month. As soon as I found out about this I sent in my info to join a circle as a stitcher. I was promptly contacted by Rachel who asked if I would be interested in joining a circle as a quilter. She said she has no short supply of stitchers, but is always looking for quilters. I was hesitant to join as a quilter, as I am still building my quilting skills. She assured me that I would do fine, so I jumped right in. She invited me to join a group that was already up and running and had lost some members for various reasons. So I am now officially a member of the Promise circle of do. Good Stitches! I was warmly welcomed by the group via flicker, and I am so excited to get quilting with them.

For October the blocks requested were a scrappy 9-patch block and a 9-patch block with red.

2013 October 2

2013 October 1

The November quilter requested four 6-inch maple leaf blocks in bright fall colors.

November

I had so much fun putting these blocks together. I can tell already that I am going to really enjoy being a part of this group. Better get planning on what sort of blocks I would like when my month to quilt rolls around.

2 thoughts on “do. Good Stitches {a Charity Bee}

  1. Great blocks. I recently joined the Hope circle if do.Good.stitches and it is so much fun to be challenged every month to try something different and so rewarding to be doing it for such a good cause.

Leave a Reply

