Baby Quilt Beauty

You may remember a few weeks back I pulled some random fabrics together and whipped up a baby quilt top just for fun.  These lovely fabrics…

fabrics

…were pulled together to create this lovely baby quilt!

Supernova 1

I decided to quilt this bad boy with some yellow variegated sulky thread, which is officially my new favorite obsession.   It has a beautiful shine and a lovely variety of shades.  In addition, I had no problems with tension or thread breaks like I have had with other threads while free motion quilting.  I am sure I will be using this type of thread in the future.  The quilting is a free motion pebble in the gray pieced areas, and I did some stitch in the ditch to give it a little more definition (especially for the back).  As much as I love pebble quilting.  I am not a fan of an entire quilt covered in it.  I like quilts to have some loft and softness, and I feel that a dense all over quilting pattern can make a quilt too stiff.  So for this quilt I left the other color areas unquilted.

supernova 2

Because this quilt is small it really is just a baby quilt, but I didn’t feel that it was very baby friendly with its somewhat dark colors and angular feel.  So for the back I decided to go with this beautiful Fort Firefly print.

birch-organic-fort-firefly-jars-(gold)-tw-09-gold-256px-256px

I think it ties in nicely with the front and it softens this otherwise tough quilt up a bit.  But to be honest I love this quilt so much, I almost wish I could keep it and hang it on my wall to admire everyday.  Oh well,  off to its new life of baby snuggles.  

Leave a comment