I love all things girly!

Many of my friends have recently had babies.  And it seems like all of them have decided to a) wait till their bundle of joy arrives to find out the sex, b) not tell anyone what the sex was until the birth, or 3) simply did not “want anything too girly”.   That takes all the fun out of it for me as a quilter.  Gender neutral quilts are boring.  I would much rather make a super girly quilt with pink and princesses.  Like this one!

photo 5

This quilt is for a very special little girl (my niece Laura, she just turned four).  I think it’s just the right size, not a “baby” quilt, but not a bed size quilt.  I know I like to have a quilt that I can curl up with and take naps with, and now she will have one too.

It’s made from the Masquerade Let’s Pretend collection by Sarah Jane for Michael Miller Fabrics.  I fell in love with this collection when it came out, and I was so glad to finally be able to use it for a girly quilt . The center block reminds me of Laura. And the mask print is to die for.

photo 6

The pattern is simple squares and half square triangles, and came together very improvisationally.  I was hoping it would look more like a star than a big X, but that’s the way it goes sometimes.  and considering this was the pattern I was working from, I’m pretty happy.

photo 7

The back is a simple gray sketch print.  The quilting I decided to do in a light purple (her favorite color).  The quilting design is a simple free motion meander with stars scattered around.  I love how soft and crinkly it is now that is has been washed and dried.

photo 2

I am really starting to get the hang of this whole free motion quilting thing.  I really did dread the quilting process not that long ago, but I’m beginning to find it to be my favorite part.  If only I felt that way about binding…I don’t think that will ever happen.  The binding on this quilt is my standard continuous bias binding made from one of the light gray prints.  And I even added a hand embroidered label to the back.

photo 4

I hope she likes it, I know I sure do.

One thought on “I love all things girly!

  1. Pingback: Out with the old, in with the new | Calvin & Carolyn

Leave a Reply

