do.Good Stitches February Blocks

For the month of February the Promise group of do.Good Stitches is making half square triangle blocks.  Sounds kind of boring right…WRONG.  Camille Roskelley of Simplify has an amazing set of 25 blocks all made from simple half square triangles (found here).  There are so many possibilities with this.  I was so excited to get started.

Our queen bee this month said she wants to use oranges as a background and blue/green/gray for the contrasting colors.  She wants 16 inch finished blocks using whichever layout we would like.  I immediately went to my stash and pulled out my stack of random 5 inch squares.  This is what I came up with.

February do good stitches fabrics

Because these quilts are very scrappy I just went with my initial instincts.  I think my favorite part of being in a group like this is I actually get to put my scraps to good use, where I normally wouldn’t touch them (I personally hate making scrap quilts).

With fabrics in hand I quickly made up my half square triangles using the traditional draw a line down the middle, sew both sides and cut method.  Tested out some layouts…

February 1 February 2 february 3

and landed on this one.  Loving it.  and off it goes to hopefully warm someone’s heart this cold cold winter.

february 4

2 thoughts on “do.Good Stitches February Blocks

Leave a Reply

