Succulents Fabric from Crimson Tate

It’s been awhile since I last posted, but I think I was just waiting for the perfect inspiration.  I am so excited to share with everyone a couple of projects I made for Heather Givans of Crimson Tate for her new fabric collection Succulents for Windham Fabrics.

Last year Heather told us she would be showing her very first fabric collection at the October 2014 Quilt Market, and she asked if anyone would help make projects for her to display in her booth.  Of course I jumped at the opportunity to sew with her beautiful fabrics, and help out a very sweet friend.

Heather4278

For my project I offered to sew up a pretty dress.  Heather picked out this beautiful gray and green print.  I think her Succulents fabrics lend themselves very well to garment sewing, especially this tiny plant print that has an almost vintage feel when sewn up as a dress or skirt. 9R1A0692

The pattern I chose was the Myrtle Dress from Colette Patterns.  The pattern is written for knits, but Sarai has a great tutorial on sewing it up with wovens.  The simple pattern is perfect for people new to garment sewing.  It has a relaxed draped neckline, elastic waist, and (my personal favorite) pockets!  This great dress works in the cool spring weather with a pair of tights and boots, and can take you into hot summer days with its sleeveless style. Our lucky friend Brook was selected as a model for Heathers look book, and her friend Eric did an amazing job taking these great photos!

9R1A0514

Now that Quilt Market has come and gone, I picked up some of this beautiful border print from her collection.  It is also a perfect print for garment sewing, so I decided to make a quick wrap skirt using another Colette Pattern, the Osaka Skirt, from her online publication Seamwork.

DSCF1322

If you can’t wait to get your hands on some Succulents comment below for a chance to win a bundle from Windham Fabrics.  Giveaway Closed. One comment will be chosen at random.  And be sure to check out all the other great stops along the blog hop for even more chances to win.  Here is the line up…

March 15: Heather Givans of Crimson Tate
March 16: Eric Lubrick of Eric Lubrick Photography
March 17: Sarah Sharp of {no} hats quilts }
March 18: Lindsay Lefevere of ellesquare
March 19: Karen McTavish of McTavish Quilting Studio
March 20: David Barnhouse of Crimson Tate
March 21: Meghan Eschbaugh of Calvin and Carolyn You are Here!
March 22: Brooke Starnes
March 23: Matthew Wheeler of Kapa Quilts
March 24: Samantha Howard of Bobaloo Kids
March 25: Amy Garro of 13 spools
March 26: Amanda Castor of Material Girl Quilts
March 27: Heather Jones of Heather Jones Studio
March 28: Heather Givans of Crimson Tate
Be sure to keep an eye on that Heather Givans, I anticipate many more amazing fabrics to come!  And one more photo of the Succulent Path quilt by Sarah, because I absolutely love it (and I had a blast helping her make these blocks).
Heather4304
120 thoughts on “Succulents Fabric from Crimson Tate

  1. Would love to get my hands on some of that fabric – as long as it came with some more pattern recommendations!! Still working on that artistic eye part!

  2. Love Heather’s fabric line! Just got some yesterday to use for some quilts for my two half brothers who live in Arizona, the perfect place for Succulents to live, right!!!

  3. Very cute dress. The quilt is amazing. I have always been too afraid to try curved sewing. Thank you for introducing me to this beautiful line of fabric.

  4. What a beautiful dress and fun skirt! I love the fabric and pattern combination that you chose. And of course the sewing is great too! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Meghan, border print skirts are me and Succulent Path is perfect. Thanks for sharing the knits to woven tutorial re: Myrtle Dress, I’ve always used knits if that’s what it calls for. You got me out of my rut…thank you!!

  6. I have not sewed garments for several years but I love the dress and skirt. A perfect use for Heather Givens new fabric Succulents from Windham Fabrics.

  7. Love the dress, but the skirt…I so need a skirt like that! I’m definitely going to be getting some fabric and sitting down to sew myself some new succulent skirts asap. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  8. I love the range of colors in this line, and the contrast between the brightness at the one end and the soothing night sky calm at the other. Such a great line of fabric. Lucky you to see it first!

  9. This fabric line has a great color palette and fun prints. I just love the Succulent Path quilt and it is on my radar to make for myself.

    tushay3 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  10. Awesome dress…I would love to have a chance to win these lovely fabrics. Quilting is my favorite way to use fabrics, so some sort of quilt would be in order if I win. The one you helped make is gorgeous!

  11. The Succulents Path quilt is just gorgeous! Those curves kind of scare me, though. Your choice of fabrics was perfect. I love the bundle too!

  12. Thanks for the chance to win the beautiful Succulent fabrics. I am enjoying looking at all the projects everyone has made.

  13. You are absolutely right, these fabrics make lovely garments. I really like the print on the dress, lively without being over bearing.

  14. Pingback: Heather Givans – Succulents | We sew by the seaside

Leave a Reply

